Pain au Sonic: A GF breadmaker

I decided to invest in a bread maker to save time as well as plastic since we had lazily reverted to buying commercially produced bread. As part of low to no plastic lifestyle we really needed to ditch the non-recyclable packaging of our favourite bought loaf.

After a good deal of experimentation I believe that I’ve hit on a really good reliable recipe of my own; much better than the ones described in the accompanying recipe booklet but first the bread maker…

I settled on the Panasonic SD ZX2522 model and got it on a great offer from Lakeland. The machine is described as a sourdough type with gluten free (GF) programmes. In reality there are just a few GF programmes and the main one is #19 which has a no prove setting just Knead, Rise and Bake. It is simple to use but the manual could be clearer for us GF peeps as most of the information in the guide relates to non-GF bread making. It has a good sized loaf tin with measuring spoon, measuring tumblers and lids and two blade settings of which only one is used in the GF recipes. It has a nut and seed dispenser that doesn’t work with the GF programmes (Why not Panasonic? It’s a digital product so why not programme a seed release at the appropriate point in program 19?)

Its easy to place the tin with blade onto tare weighing scales and measure in all of the ingredients by weight and measuring spoon. The wet ingredients go in first (including any additional flavourings such as sun-dried tomatoes, olives or fruit) and then the dry. I put seeds in with the dry ingredients if required.

Before going on to share my recipe I want to make another recommendation. My Kenwood Chef Professional grain mill failed on me and so I decided to Freecycle the whole thing and replace it with a Komo grain mill. I found that I rarely used the rest of the processor and because it still worked and was repairable it went to a better home. Great decision. I love the Komo mill and it is a good investment for a GF family. The flour I am able to grind is much finer than I was able to obtain with the Kenwood and it is so quick and easy to use. It also looks pretty cool on the worktop. I just wish there was a purpose made cover for the outlet as well as the inlet.

My recipe is baked in the Panasonic using a grain blend ground from whole products using the Komo. I can’t vouch for its success with other equipment but you could always buy the individual flours if you wish. It just works out way more expensive down the line and not as eco-friendly.

Here’s the link to the recipe

Leave a comment